top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Faith

Being mindful in the new year: five life hacks

Here we are. It’s the light at the end of the tunnel and we finally made it the last month of 2020. This year made history. It’s been shitty, but I hope you found at least a little good in this year.


2020 brought so many surprises and took so many different turns, to say the least. To whoever who is reading this: I am so sorry if any of the events of this year negatively affected you. I hope you feel loved and are being safe!


We’ve all had highs and lows this year, and I think the time that we’re at is a perfect time to reflect. It never hurts to think about what you did that went well this year, and what you can work on.


These are some thoughts I’ve collected over the past few months that I want to take into the new year. I hope that these five life hacks* spark some type of motivation in you.


Life hacks* meaning different tools I plan on applying to my life. I'm definitely not qualified or smart enough to think of the top five hacks to have the best life. I wish I was, but take them with a grain of salt.

No one is expecting you to find yourself or have a major glow up next year. Grow at your own pace and be proud of where you’re at! (If you do have a glow up though then pls give me your life hacks)


Do not focus too much on the past or future; stay present.

We’ve all definitely been in situations where we wish we said something or did something differently. I think we also have a bad habit of worrying about the future, whether it represents five years from now or two weeks. I am a BIG thinker — I can be stuck in the past for months at a time or have a colossal knot in my stomach about random events that are months away. I’ve learned that if I stay present, I find so much more happiness out of life. If you’re constantly worrying about what could’ve happened or what might happen, where does that put you? In a scenario that you cannot change or have the power to immensely prepare for. You’re almost living in this imaginary world in your mind, and that inexistent place cannot benefit your now. Life is not meant to be spent worrying!!!

Live a value based life, not goal based life.

Shoutout to Tik Tok for this one. https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMJGAhA4o/ (definitely watch it)


I watched a video of a girl explaining that her therapist advised her to live a life based on values and not on goals. So, what does that mean?


Goals = concrete/objective (ex: I want to lose 10 pounds)

Values = abstract/subjective (ex: I want to be kind to people I don’t know)


Ultimately, the video explains that a goal-based life postpones your happiness as you’re constantly trying to meet these goals, and you’re upset when you don’t. Values, however, allow you to progress each day -- they don’t have to be planned. Think about how upset you are when you don’t reach your goals: you beat yourself up and start comparing yourself to people who have met those goals. With values, there is no finish line that allows you to be happy once it’s crossed.


Things are only dramatic if you make it

Shoutout to my University’s counselors for this one!! My counselor randomly told this to me one session and I don’t think she realized the effect that this would have on me. Maybe I’m just super dramatic (probs), but this hit me like a truck. Sometimes you’re in a mindset where you think everyone is out to get you and little mistakes become catastrophes. This is such a minuscule but effective reminder. If you’re feeling emotional, take a step back and think if it’s really that dramatic. Kind of like a “go-with-the-flow” mentality. Again, take this with a grain of salt because events really can be traumatic and deserve to feel emotional about. But every once in a while this doesn’t hurt to think about. Don't take life that seriously, and I promise no one is out to get you.

You attract.

Margot Lee has a great blog post and YouTube video on the Law of Attraction. You (yes, you) have all of the power to attract what you want. I have this as my lock screen.


Period!!!


"I can not control what happens, but I can control the way I react to what happens”

I found Hannah Jarrah (wholesome Han) this year on Tik Tok and she's all about living a healthy lifestyle through her eating, exercise and particularly mindful habits She gives great advice, and this one piece really stuck with me. I think this is mindful habit was imperative to this year, and we all could’ve been doing it. No one was prepared for any of the events that took place this year, but controlling the way we reacted to them could have made things much different. If you get anything out of this post, take this. Life happens and things can change our plans, but the way we react to them is how I think we’ll find peace in the new year.


Bring on 2021.


-Emma

57 views
bottom of page