top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Faith

Kale Waffles



Okay hear me out for this one. I understand that most people want a real waffle with syrup and butter when they ask for a waffle. Personally, I feel kind of bad about myself after I start my day with a breakfast that has little to no nutritional value. That's why whenever I am craving a waffle or pancake, I try to load them up with different ingredients that will make me feel (slightly) less bad. So I present to you, kale waffles!!!


I highly believe in treating yourself, so if you want that waffle with extra syrup and whipped cream, so be it. But if you want a somewhat healthier alternative, try these out. This recipe includes almond flour, chocolate protein powder, kale (ofc), and a few other simple ingredients. You can definitely customize it to your liking too.


What you'll need:

☆ All purpose flour

☆ Almond flour

☆ Apple cider vinegar

☆ Ground flax seed (and some water, we're making a flax egg)

☆ Almond milk

☆ Kale!

☆ Vega chocolate protein powder

☆ Vanilla

☆ Baking powder

☆ Baking soda

☆ Cinnamon


Something that I've learned through cooking and baking is that almond flour is a little tricky to work with. It doesn't contain gluten, so it usually requires more of something that will help bind everything together. You get your healthy fats and nutrients in from the almond flour, but I usually have to add some regular flour to my recipes in order for it to all come together. You can alter this recipe by adding a healthier flour that is easier to work with, such as quinoa or buckwheat flour. You can also blend up some oats and try that too! The world is your oyster.


Apple cider vinegar supposedly makes your waffles or pancakes fluffier. It also helps in making sure the batter doesn't stick to your waffle iron, griddle, or pan when they're cooking. ACV is a nice substitute for oil, too.


Why flax eggs over real eggs? Flax eggs contain omega-3 fatty acids that are help with brain function, growth, and reducing inflammation. Flax eggs are also great when you want something that contains less fat. Sometimes if I'm feeling a real egg, I'll use a real egg. Real eggs add structure and moisture to your batter, so sometimes they're the more realistic option. Whatever you're feeling.


Even though oat milk is becoming the trendy and preferred non-dairy milk of choice, almond milk has never let us down. She's low-cal and loaded with calcium and vitamin D. I did a research project on dairy during my freshman year of college and discovered that over two thirds of the world is lactose intolerant - I hate to race to conclusions, but that has to mean that dairy can't be too great for us. So drink almond milk :p


Kale!!! There's no better way to start your day than with some leafy greens. You can definitely use spinach too - it's probably preferred since the leaves are much softer and easier to blend than kale, but spinach and I don't really have the greatest relationship (sad :/). Kale has lots of fiber, antioxidants, calcium, iron, etc etc etc... All of this stuff helps reducing heart disease, diabetes, and even cancer. Eat yo greens. Pls.


Adding some protein powder never hurts. Chocolate or vanilla powder will definitely give these waffles some flavor as well (which I highly recommend). Protein is the building block to our bone structure, muscles, and skin. This stuff's important.


Once you gather all of your ingredients, I recommend separating the wet from the dry. But first you need to make your flax egg. Take some ground flax seed and mix it with some water; set is aside and it will thicken up over time. Take your almond flour, all purpose flour, protein powder, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon and mix it together in a bowl. Set that aside. Take your kale and make sure you remove the leaves from the stem - the stem is usually too tough to blend (try feeding it to your dog. I've heard some dogs enjoy this, but my dogs seem to sniff it and walk away. my dogs are not skinny queens). Then, put the kale in a blender as well as the dry ingredients. Add the wet ingredients into the blender - the almond milk, apple cider vinegar, vanilla, and the flax egg. Blend! You want it to be a thick consistency (like a pancake batter), but add a little water if you need to.



Once you have your mixture, oil-up your waffle iron for waffles or your skillet for pancakes and cook away. Who knew waffles could be healthy? now👏you👏know👏


Topped my waffles with peanut butter, pecans, chia seed, coconut flakes, and a little maple syrup.










29 views
bottom of page