top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Faith

Get Fit While Having Fun

Working out can be a drag. It’s troublesome to find a routine that you know will raise your spirits and give you the results you’re looking for. And once you find that routine, it can start to get old.


There’s also such a pressure to work out and prove to yourself that it was a life changing experience -- that you’ll instantly reach euphoria and sustain healthy habits afterwards. Don’t get me wrong, I think that we should all take a few minutes out of our days to move our bodies in any way we want to. I'd say it's imperative for our physical and mental health. However, I’ve definitely experienced frustration when I can’t push myself do a few more reps, run for a few more minutes or even complete an entire workout video. I am the first to admit that being frustrated with myself while working out has definitely resulted in a few tears once or twice. Sometimes the motivation just isn't there.


What I’m trying to say is that working out should not feel like a chore. You’re supposed to enjoy it! Yes, it can be hard, but I think that’s the point. Pushing ourselves and obtaining goals we’ve made for ourselves is always satisfying. However, make sure you’re not delaying your happiness to reach a specific, probably numerical goal. Enjoy the process. Find what you enjoy about it -- how you feel afterwards, how confident you feel, anything at all.


Maintaining a physical lifestyle has always been important to me, so I’ve compiled a few workout routines that I’ve loved in different situations. Sometimes it's been a long day and I don't feel like putting in a lot of effort into working out, or I need someone to guide me through specific techniques. It’s difficult for us to eat the same thing every day for months. Likewise, it’s critical to switch up our workouts every once in a while.



#1 Gabriella Guevara Cycling Videos

There's a reason this is number one on my list. Holy sh*t did she change my life.


I would definitely call Gabriella my hidden gem. During Summer of 2018, I was searching on YouTube to find some cycling videos I could ride along to. This is when all of the influencers were talking about Soul Cycle, but there was no way I was about to drive to the city and spend money on a class that I could probably do at home. Lucky for me, I found Gabriella. She has such high energy and is always accommodating to different skill levels. What's enjoyable about rhythm cycling is how your body moves exactly to the beat of the music. It's satisfying and really just feels like you're dancing. The more you do certain routines, the more moves you'll begin to learn, which lets you listen to whatever music you want and create your own routine. It's a great form of cardio if running or stair masters are not your forte. Her videos also keep me distracted and limit me from giving up -- she definitely holds you accountable.


I know that Peleton was the craze of 2020, but I really encourage you to check out Gabriella's videos. Her YouTube videos are free of cost, but she also has an app where other rides can be unlocked as well as her other workout routines. She also does live rides on her YouTube channel a few times a week which I LOVE. They make you feel like you're actually at one of her classes. Can't recommend her enough!!


My favorite rides:

Bikes can get expensive, so I found a few options that are at a decent price:



#2 Take a walk! (or run)

This seems obvious but going on walks is an easy way to get some exercise in. It's really not much of a time commitment -- two miles in 30-ish minutes is pretty obtainable.


It's also a nice way to get some fresh air and take your eyes off your phone or computer. If you're a multitasker, you can listen to some music, podcasts or call your parents while you're at it. Find a forest preserve or walk around your neighborhood, campus or city.


If you're not much of a walker, running also has great benefits. There's something about it that's so freeing. It also doesn't require much thought -- you just do it. Don't put so much pressure on yourself that you need to have a mile pace below 10 minutes. It's okay to go at a pace where you can still breathe pretty comfortably. I think that's why a lot of people don't like running, that they feel like they need to push themselves to the point of pain and hating yourself. Just take it slow and you'll learn how to feel comfortable with going a little faster each time.



#3 POPSUGAR Fitness Videos

Anna Renderer is my queen. <3


POPSUGAR Fitness is a wonderful option for people who want to tone their bodies or complete a different form of cardio but are unsure how to. All you have to do is follow the video and the host always makes sure to have different skill levels based on where people may be at. I've turned to POPSUGAR a lot throughout my college years and during the pandemic where workout space is limited. There's so many different videos to choose from based on what you're looking to target, whether you have weights or not and what amount of time you have. The main host Anna is also so sweet and motivating. She also brings in different hosts that are experts in certain areas, like pilates, yoga or boxing. 10/10!


My favs:


#4 Ring Fit Adventure on Nintendo Switch

Did you also buy a Nintendo Switch during quarantine because everyone became obsessed with Animal Crossing but now you never use it? I have a solution for you.


I actually didn't buy a Switch, but I like to take advantage of my sister's whenever I get the chance (shoutout Allison).


This is nothing like Wii Fit. It will not yell at you and say you're obese and then attempt to handcraft workouts for you that have no value. It's actually no joke -- I sweat way more than expected.


You use the ring as well as attaching one of the remotes to your upper leg to complete a variety of different workouts while trying to conquer different levels and "bad guys." It has everything from core workouts to legs to triceps and more. Games are obviously fun, and adding the fitness aspect to it allows you to be competitive and not stop until you're a champion. If you happen to have a Switch, I'd definitely recommend this. It's obviously not free, but it's really practical for people who live in an apartment with limited space, or if you want your workouts to consist of defeating enemies and such.


Ring Fit Adventure $79.99 at Target.

Nintendo Switch $299.99 on Nintendo.com



#5 MadFit Tik Tok Dances

MadFit has an amazing selection of workouts. Seriously she has everything you'd ever be looking for. I do want to highlight however her dance videos, specifically the Tik Tok ones. I might get roasted for not highlighting her workout routines that are seriously killer because she deserves the recognition, but your girl loves a little dancey dance.


I'm honestly a little incompetent when it comes to dancing. MadFit on the other hand makes it seem so easy to dance and break a sweat while you're at it. If you're like me and only know two or three Tik Tok dances when the rest of the world knows 30+, but wish you could still dance to the songs without looking like a string bean, these videos are a really fun option. Anyway...


She combines dance moves and traditional workout moves in a handful of songs. The videos are usually around 15 minutes, so I find these are great to watch after I've had a long day of work or school and need to move my body in a fun way. It's also a nice mood booster that will help you feel more confident. You might feel silly at first, but she's right there with you.


She also has other dance videos with songs by One Direction, Justin Bieber, Ariana Grande and more.



~honorable mentions~

  • Lauren Giraldo's 12-3-30 treadmill workout

  • Weight lifting (Tik Tok has a lot of tips from people with experience... if you're looking to build muscle)

  • StairMaster can burn anywhere from 180 to 260 calories for 30 mins (or literally just go up and down any stairs you can find)

  • Elliptical can burn about 270 to 400 calories in 30 minutes (great low-impact option)

    • **Working out is NOT all about burning calories. Just showing how they compare.

  • YouTube has some great yoga and pilates videos as well. :)

 

If you plan on trying out any of these methods, I’d love to know how it works out for you. Feel free to leave me a message and we can talk about it all. :)


Happy sweating!!🕺



-Emma

123 views
bottom of page